Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Luna tutors in San Francisco, CA

Luna V.

Private tutor in San Francisco, CA

Luna V.546

46 reviews

Education

Emory University - BS, Biology

Experience

I graduated from Emory University at Atlanta. I earned a B.S. in Biology and a B.A. in Dance and Movement Studies. I have been tutoring for over five years in a wide array of subjects and with a diverse age range of students. While in college, I worked as a tutor in Biology, Chemistry, Human Physiology, and Physics. I also worked as a teaching assistant in Biology. During the summer, I taught Science to primary school students. Prior to college, I worked as a tutor in Math and standardized test preparation. My tutoring experiences have taught me that the best way to teach Math is to find the patterns in the problem, and to assist students in mastering them so that they can build on the patterns. I feel that it is important to provide students with the skills to become independent learners. I do this by building their confidence as they learn to correctly solve math problems. I believe that by teaching a student to recognize the best approach to a problem, to utilize critical reasoning when solving, and to conceptualize the patterns in the problem, they will be able to solve the problem more easily. The subjects that I am interested in tutoring include: Math, Science, and standardized test preparation (ACT, SAT, and MCAT). I am taking one year off from my own education while I prepare to attend medical school. During my free time, I dance, travel and explore, watch movies, and run. 

Availability

Weekdays at any time, Weekends at any time

Can Meet

Up to 30 minutes away at my regular hourly rate

Hobbies

Dance, hiking, healthcare, traveling, global health, running, performing arts

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!