Need help finding the right tutor?

When do you want to start?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Rebecca tutors in San Francisco, CA

Rebecca H.

Private tutor in San Francisco, CA

5Rebecca H.

1 review

Education

I am a graduate of Princeton University (full-time student) and Oxford University (study abroad) in Ecology and Evolutionary Biology and Environmental Studies. GPA: 3.8/4.0 Currently employed as a research fellow at the Environmental Defense Fund in San Francisco.

Experience

7 years tutoring experience. I used to tutor with Princeton Tutoring as well. I've also had a varied collection of teaching experiences, such as teaching biology to children in schools in Kenya one summer; teaching music as a counselor at a music camps (cello and chamber coaching); teaching at the Dartmouth College Accelerated Language Programs (Chinese); and becoming my high school's first language class assistant teacher (French). I also teach yoga. I've taken classes at Princeton and Oxford in ecology, environmental science, organic chemistry, physics, molecular biology, statistics, advanced Chinese, Spanish, writing, and evolutionary biology. Awards: Received the Smith-Newton Scholarship $15,000 to conduct independent research in an environmental field; “honorific in nature and designed to reward students who have shown exceptional promise in their academic coursework.” Two-time recipient of the Schering-Plough Scholarship of $2,000, given to an undergraduate science major conducting independent scientific research. Finalist of the Quin Morton Writing Seminar for writing “one of the best essays in the Writing Seminars during the 2011-2012 academic year...out of the thousands written” at Princeton University. High school valedictorian. National Merit Scholarship Finalist. Test Scores: SAT: 800 Math, 800 Critical Reading, 770 Writing SAT II: 800 Math Level 2, 780 Chemistry, 740 Biology E AP: 5 Calculus BC, 5 Environmental Science (self-studied, school did not offer APs)

Availability

Any day at any time

Can Meet

Up to 15 minutes away for no additional charge

Hobbies

I've both taught and received teaching in many different settings. I've taught as a music instructor at classical music summer camps, as a certified yoga teacher, as an environmental science and biology teacher in classrooms in Kenya, as a French language teacher in my high school French classroom, as a Chinese drill instructor at the Dartmouth College Accelerated Language Programs, and finally as a tutor at Princeton University for four years. In all, I have approximately 7 years of accumulated teaching experience. On the reverse side, I've been in school and university for nearly all my life, and I know what works for me as a student. I love being challenged by a demanding instructor who can push me to achieve what I need to achieve. Although I work with my students rigorously, I also know that patience and encouragement are necessary facets of learning, and so I always incorporate these characteristics into my teaching. I think this method works, too - I most recently helped improve a student at Princeton High School from a C+ to an A- grade average in his biology class.

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!